Two Watsons

  
I fancied having a go at making lingerie and bought a Quik-sew pattern but I found it too difficult for me and I really didn’t like the result – neither the appearance nor the fit. I read that lots of people liked the Watson bra and it was a good pattern to start on. It also has a pattern for bikini knickers. So as I had a few bits of elastic and tricot left I bought a pattern and gave it a go. Many advised practising first rather than using your best fabric and I did just that. I am really pleased with these two sets that I made as they fit really well and are very comfortable to wear.

  Both sets are made from 4 way stretch Lycra type material that I already had. The blue fabric was less stretchy and worked better and was easier to sew. I lined both cradles with tricot and doubled up the fabric for the bands. I didn’t have enough elastic for the straps on the snakeskin set so are some from lace and ribbon following this tutorial. Then I dyed them and the fastening in strong tea. They look quite pretty but I prefer the plain plush elastic straps. I also found a couple of old videos on YouTube which were very useful for working with lingerie materials.
The pattern instructions are really clear and easy to follow. I did not think the sizing instructions would work first time but they did. I’m so pleased with them I’ve just sent off for some more fabric. Next time I might try finishing off the insides better using this tutorial.

The Watson is a 70s-inspired lingerie set perfect for lounging or dressing up! The soft cup bra features triangle-style cups. View 1 has a longline band. View 2 has a regular length band that runs right below the cups. The bikini is a hipster style with a waistline that falls just below mid hip.

Leave a Reply

